God's Promises Pt. 1

This week the Lord reminded me of His promises by having the rainbow in the sky as I was on my way to see my sister and brother in law to hang out for a while before heading out to Micro Center. If you're curious it's computer store and one of the best places to get computer parts for those that build PCs and heavy into gaming. Going back to seeing the rainbow I was in the car driving then the Lord was speaking to me and was telling me to tell the people including myself not to get weary and to remember His promises in our life. Sometimes we get tired and lose sight of what God has in store for us because we can get impatient from waiting or things not going how we anticipated them. This is when we have to trust in God no matter how grim, unfair or impossible things may seem. The rainbow this week was a reminder for sure for me for I was starting to get tired of backlash and things coming against my mind, things happening spiritually, and even people. You have to encourage yourself like David and press forward because you're in the wilderness having your faith being tested.

The rainbow is a visible symbol from God representing the covenant between God and earth. The rainbow is also a promise that God would never flood the earth and all living creatures again as in Noah's days. This passage can be found in scripture and read in [Genesis 9:13-17]

13 “I do set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be for a token of a covenant between me and the earth.

14 And it shall come to pass, when I bring a cloud over the earth, that the bow shall be seen in the cloud:

15 And I will remember my covenant, which is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh; and the waters shall no more become a flood to destroy all flesh.

16 And the bow shall be in the cloud; and I will look upon it, that I may remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is upon the earth.

17 And God said unto Noah, This is the token of the covenant, which I have established between me and all flesh that is upon the earth”.

We have to realize that the rainbow is more than just a visible sign of God not flooding the earth and all living flesh again; it is a sign of God's promises. When you understand the significance of what a covenant truly is you understand the rainbow is much more. Referring back to verse 13 “...and it shall be for a token of a covenant between me and the earth.” Now let use break this down and really understand what is being said and lets break down key words.

Key words: shall, token, covenant

Shall:

1. (in the first person) expressing the future tense.

  1. expressing a strong assertion or intention.

Token:

1. a thing serving as a visible or tangible representation of a fact, quality, feeling, etc.

2. a voucher that can be exchanged for goods or services, typically one given as a gift or offered as part of a promotional offer.

3. done for the sake of appearances or as a symbolic gesture.

Covenant:

1. an agreement.

2. a contract drawn up by deed.

3. an agreement which brings about a relationship of commitment between God and His people.

When looking breaking these key words down and getting revelation by the Holy Spirit; a covenant is a promise that must take place on both sides. Expressing good intentions for a future relationship towards one another. You can have a visible or tangible gesture or each side must exchange a good or service or gift. When a covenant is formed it's an promise on both ends that each side will be committed to the relationship and uphold their promises. Think of it on the magnitude of a wedding vow. God doesn't break His promises but we as people do break our promises which is why we as people can break a covenant with God but God won't break a covenant with us. God said He will never leave us or forsake us at the same time when we break our covenant with God we are outside His promises for His promises are for those that are in Him.

Lets take a look how that is so in Jeremiah 11:1-8

11 “The word that came to Jeremiah from the Lord saying,

2 Hear ye the words of this covenant, and speak unto the men of Judah, and to the inhabitants of Jerusalem;

3 And say thou unto them, Thus saith the Lord God of Israel; Cursed be the man that obeyeth not the words of this covenant,

4 Which I commanded your fathers in the day that I brought them forth out of the land of Egypt, from the iron furnace, saying, Obey my voice, and do them, according to all which I command you: so shall ye be my people, and I will be your God:

5 That I may perform the oath which I have sworn unto your fathers, to give them a land flowing with milk and honey, as it is this day. Then answered I, and said, So be it, O Lord.

6 Then the Lord said unto me, Proclaim all these words in the cities of Judah, and in the streets of Jerusalem, saying, Hear ye the words of this covenant, and do them.

7 For I earnestly protested unto your fathers in the day that I brought them up out of the land of Egypt, even unto this day, rising early and protesting, saying, Obey my voice.

8 Yet they obeyed not, nor inclined their ear, but walked every one in the imagination of their evil heart: therefore I will bring upon them all the words of this covenant, which I commanded them to do: but they did them not”.

We see the condition here of a covenant with God breaking a covenant with God brings curses to you while keeping it will keep you under His promises. This is similar to a spouse cheating on their significant other; when one has cheated the other may lash out in angry from provoking them with the action caused. This is important to realize the severity of a covenant with God. When you are outside His will and act in disobedience to His word you are outside His covenant. The promises of God are for those in the new covenant with Him when receiving Jesus Christ, and for those not in Jesus you have the opportunity to come to repentance and give your life to God. There is no other way but through Jesus.

John 15:4 KJV

Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me.

1 Timothy 2:5 KJV

For there is one God, and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus;

2 Chronicles 30:9 KJV

For if ye turn again unto the Lord, your brethren and your children shall find compassion before them that lead them captive, so that they shall come again into this land: for the Lord your God is gracious and merciful, and will not turn away his face from you, if ye return unto him.

Joel 2:13 KJV

And rend your heart, and not your garments, and turn unto the Lord your God: for he is gracious and merciful, slow to anger, and of great kindness, and repenteth him of the evil.
Who knoweth if he will return and repent, and leave a blessing behind him; even a meat offering and a drink offering unto the Lord your God?
Blow the trumpet in Zion, sanctify a fast, call a solemn assembly:

So when we understand God's promises and His covenant we must respond with faith and action of obedience. I hope this message has blessed you and I hope you share this with many. Don't just take my word from it but study yourself approved and asked the Holy Spirit to give you the message of truth. God bless you hope this has encouraged you to stay obedient and cling to God even more. When the Lord gives me the next message I will release it. Until then God bless and be blessed in Jesus name.